Announcement of the 2019 ALIA NT Recognition Award

30 May 2019: This year for the first time, we have joint winners of the **2019 ALIA NT Recognition Award** - congratulations to the Alice Springs Public Library Youth Team and the Northern Territory Library for jointly winning the Award! They will "share" the ALIA NT Recognition Award trophy and receive \$300 cash each. The presentation was carried out at the annual LIW Award Night last Tuesday, 21 May 2019 at the Novotel Airport in Darwin. Below is a brief summary of each nomination:

JOINT WINNERS

Alice Springs Public Library Youth Team led by Alice Goddard, has created a welcoming safe space for at-risk young people in Central Australia. It aims to provide positive youth development activities to build literacy, resilience and confidence and has formed constructive relationships between disadvantaged Aboriginal young people, the library and local service providers. Alice leads a team of experienced Youth Workers (Geeks) to provide educational diversionary activities within the library youth space, in a respectful, non-judgemental and open manner. Their hard work and dedication has seen significant improvements in library/youth relationships, and formed a number of very vital connections within the community. Team members include: Alice Goddard, Matthew Hill, Caddie Brain, Meret McDonald, Lindsey Matthews, Matthew Virgona and Else Kennedy. The Team was nominated by Clare Fisher, Manager, Library Services.

The Northern Territory Library's "A Territory Story" exhibition was launched in July 2018 as a semi-permanent exhibition and the first to incorporate multiple themes of NT history bringing together the collection of photos, maps, manuscripts, audio visual and books in one offering. Using unique story telling through first person narratives, touch and interactive maps, a model replica of a tourism bus and multiple interactive touch screens for song, story and video, the exhibition brings to life the Library collection and a history of the Territory integrating the history of Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal cultures. The success of this innovative approach is illustrated through comments in the visitor's book, media and other critical responses. Team members include: Brian Hubber, Samantha Wells, Charlie Ward, Mickey Dewar, Cathy Hilder, Kirby Aylett, Bharath AK, Patrick Gregory, Maeva Masterson, Kerry Blinco and Emma Darby. The Team was nominated by Anneke Barnes, Assistant Director, Collections and Engagement.

NOMINEES

The **Staff of the City of Darwin Libraries for the Monsoon Cinema Club** – a cinematic spin on the traditional library "Book Club", where twice a month, attendees meet to consume and discuss a film together, as well as the complimentary cheese and wine. The program strives to be values-based and operates within a community development framework, being user-driven, and democratic where possible. Members suggest themes, and the facilitator creates a list of films that members vote on, using a preferential voting system. Now in its fifth year, the program continues to attracta regular audience of between 20 to 40 patrons twice a month. Team members include: Morgan Rickard, Lynette Loone, Jasmine Banister-Williams and Nina Bellairs. The team was nominated by Karen Conway, Executive Manager, Library Services, City of Darwin Libraries.

The **Department of Health Library's Resources Management Team** was nominated for developing their existing electronic repository ePublications (using DSpace) into a key resource for Departmental researchers and staff. The repository has been customised to enable weekly PubMed harvesting that contributes to the collection, preservation and dissmeination of NT Health's intellectual output. Two concurrent projects have have led to develoment of specialised features of the repository – NT Health Research Collection, a secure archive of the Dept's research publications, and the Historical Collection, a digital collection of Dept material of historical significance to the NT. There has been successful ongoing promotion of these collections via the monthly Library Alert, which is emailed to all staff. Team members include: Ruby Lindberg, Marlene Murphy, Hayley Bawden, Despina Moisidis, and Rose Coles. The Team was nominated by Marg Purnell, Health Services Librarian, DOH Library.

The Young Territory Author Awards (YTAA) Team at the City of Darwin Libraries (CODL) was nominated for outstanding efforts in organising the Awards, and in promoting libraries and information services. The YTAA is an annual writing competition held Territory-wide by CODL in association with other public libraries, schools, and councils throughout the Northern Territory. The Awards are open to all children 18 years and under across the Territory, and on occasion over 200 entries are received each year. To enter, participants must write and produce a book. The Awrads aim to encourage creativity and imagination and provide young writers with an opprotunity to develop their writing skills. The completed books are added to the CODL's YTAA Collection, which provides an avenue through which young Territory authors can share ehtier stories and have them recognsied as literary works. Team members include: Stacey Rosser, Lindy McLinden, Trish Olsson, Nicole Nurse, Amelia Mentor, Joanne O'Reilly, , Grace Craddock and Jess Melit. The Team was nominated by Rosie Martinez, Children and Youth Services Librarian.

The Library Team at the Central Australian Campus of Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education was nominated for their efforts in acquiring 11,000 items from the ABC Research Library in Sydney for their collection. The project involved a tremendous amount of work which included selecting items and physically handling them on arrival, and housing them within the collection. Library staff had to negotiate the move of the collection with many stakeholders and worked with ABC media to publicise the project. Their efforts were well worthwhile as they resulted in improved collections and contributed to literacy for Indigenous Territorians. Team members include: Melissa Raymond, Amanda Bethel-Donaldson, and Lynn Day. The Team was nominated by Gillian Terry, Manager, Library and Information Services, Batchelor Institute.

Congratulations and well done to all the nominees! Once again, a big thank-you to Raeco for their continuous sponsorship of our Award. I'm also grateful to members of the selection panel for their time and efforts; to all the volunteers, members, friends and supporters, for helping make the Award Night such a great success.

Jayshree Mamtora AFALIA (DCP) jayshree.mamtora@alia.org.au